Academic Standards meetings will take place on the 4th Wednesday of each month from 10:00 a.m. -11:00 a.m. Room location is 447 BRG .

The Fall dates are as follows:

  • September 26, 2018
  • October 24, 2018
  • November 28, 2018
  • December date TBD

Do you want to automatically add Academic Standards Committee meeting dates to your calendars? If so, click here.

The Winter dates are still TBD.


The Committee on Examinations and Academic Standards shall oversee academic policy, academic standards and policies and practices related to examinations. It will monitor and provide Faculty-level academic oversight of grades exercises undertaken by academic units. It will recommend to Council policy on student honours, awards, scholarships and bursaries. The Committee shall conduct hearings and make decisions in cases of breach of the Senate Policy on Academic Honesty.

Committee Membership:

  • 3 full-time faculty members elected by Council
  • 1 student nominated by student members of Council
  • Vice Dean, non-voting
  • Secretary to Committee, non-voting
  • Assistant Dean – Students, non-voting

No panel may reach a decision at a hearing unless at least three members are in attendance.

2018-19 Members

3 full-time faculty members elected by council Garrett Melenka (Chair), alternate faculty (Jeff Harris & Gunho Sohn), Kevin Gingerich (CIVL) Zbignew Stachniak (EECS)
1 student Simran Kanda
Vice/Associate Dean, non-voting UT Nguyen
Assistant Dean – Students, non-voting Amy Gaukel
Secretary to Committee, non-voting Caitlin Hicks