Meeting dates for 2018-19

Awards committee meets every third Wednesday of the month

Awards Proposal Form

Awards Amendment Form

Awards Committee Description

The Committee on Awards shall make recommendations and provide advice to Council on policy matters related to awards and scholarship. It will promote and celebrate outstanding performance and creative scholarship across the School. It will adjudicate School-level competitions and programs and adjudicate student, faculty and staff awards as applicable.

Awards Committee Mandate

This committee will propose policy for student, staff and faculty awards (creation, advertisement, nominations and selections) in the Lassonde School of Engineering; additionally this committee will adjudicate School-wide awards.

On behalf of the Lassonde School of Engineering, and in the context of promoting, recognizing and celebrating outstanding achievements in teaching, learning, service and research, the Committee shall be responsible for those aspects of awards, prizes and medals under the School’s jurisdiction.

Awards Committee Terms of Reference

The Committee shall be responsible for:

  • Approving the creation, elimination or amendment of awards adjudicated or funded within the jurisdiction of the Lassonde School of Engineering and its constituent departments & committees.
  • Adjudicating awards, or overseeing the adjudication of awards delegated to other bodies.
  • Reporting to Faculty Council on the individual recipients of prestigious awards and on the nature, number, and disbursement of such awards.
  • Proposing the creation, elimination or amendment of faculty level awards within the Lassonde School of Engineering.
  • Promote awareness within the Lassonde School of Engineering of awards, scholarships and bursaries.
  • Providing Advice on awards created or adjudicated by units or committees within the Lassonde School of Engineering.
  • Coordinate nominations for awards on behalf of the School.

Terms of Service

Faculty Members will be elected at-large for a two-year rolling cycle. Each year, one half of the membership turns over and will be replaced on a rotational basis by other faculty members. The voting members of the Committee select the Chair for a two-year term.

Undergraduate students will serve one-year terms, as elected and determined in the Lassonde Student Government constitution.

The Graduate student representative will serve one-year renewable terms.


At least half of the voting members of the Committee, the majority of whom are full-time faculty or librarians, constitutes quorum.

Committee Membership:

4 faculty members (one from each department), 1 librarian, 1 staff, 2 students (1 undergraduate, 1 graduate), Vice/Associate Dean, Assistant Dean Students (or designate), Manager, Student Engagement (Ex-officio, non-voting), Lassonde Advancement Representative (Ex-officio, non-voting), Secretary to Committee (non-voting)

2018-19 Members

Faculty members elected by Council (4) Rashid Bashir (CIVL), John Lam (EECS), Mojgan Jadidi (ESSE), Alex Czekanski (MECH)
Librarian (1) John Dupuis
Staff (1)
Manager, Student Engagement & Secretary to Committee  (ex-officio, non-voting) Gayathry Wright
2 Students (1 UG, 1 Grad) Nadir Shah (UG), Benjamin Brunson (Grad)
Lassonde Advancement Representative (ex-officio, non-voting) Suzie Lee-Hortness
Vice/Associate Dean (1) Regina Lee
Assistant Dean, Students Amy Gaukel