The Lassonde Faculty Council is a forum where members of the Lassonde School of Engineering approve academic planning, curricular and research items, and discuss matters relating to the development of the School. Faculty Council is open to everyone – all our citizens – in the Lassonde community although voting rights are reserved for full members. Members of the Dean’s executive team and support staff attend and participate in meetings, and provide updates on activities taking place within the School. Lassondian students are also members of the Council, and representatives of the student clubs and associations affiliated with Lassonde regularly present their latest plans and achievements.

The membership of the Council is made up of the following:

  • All full-time Faculty members
  • Assistant Deans (3)
  • Students (13)
  • Staff (2)
  • Contract Faculty members (2)
  • Master of Bethune College
  • Librarian
  • Alumni
  • Ex-officio members required by Senate rules


The positions of Chair and Vice-Chair are elected by members of Council for one-year terms. The Secretary of Council is appointed by the Dean.


The Council’s committees review and make recommendations to the Faculty Council on policy matters within their purview. The current committee’s of Council are:

  • Executive Committee
  • Committee on Planning, Academic Resources & Research (PARR)
  • Committee on Learning, Curriculum & Students (LCS)
  • Sub-Committee on Petitions & Appeals
  • Committee on Academic Standards
  • Committee on Tenure and Promotions
  • Committee on Awards: Students, Faculty & Staff
  • Joint Sub-Committee – Teaching Enhanced & Active Learning (TEAL)
  • Joint Sub-Committee –  Program Assessment Group on Evaluation and Systems (PAGES)